Coffee + Bakery

  • 742 Congress Street
  • Portland, Maine 04102
  • (207) 760-4440

Cafe + Roastery

  • 122 Anderson Street
  • Portland, Maine 04101
  • (207) 760-4440

Our Story



Where to Buy



Joseph Shabason - The Fellowship (on Sky Blue Vinyl)


Tracklist : 
  1. Life With My Grandparents 4:51
  2. Escape From North York 3:38
  3. The Fellowship 5:14
  4. 0-13 2:37
  5. 13-15 5:10
  6. 15-19 7:01
  7. Comparative World Religions 3:00
  8. So Long 7:07

From the label :

Across eight tracks that mesh spacious, jazz-laced composition with
fourth-world and adult-contemporary tonality, Toronto saxophonist
Joseph Shabason sketches an auditory map of the transcendence, unity,
conditioning, and eventual renunciation of his upbringing in an Islamic
and Jewish dual-faith household. The resulting album The Fellowship
bears the name of the insular Islamic community Shabason’s traditionally
Jewish parents belonged to from a time before he was even born; a
mental and spiritual push-pull which continued shaping, even controlling,
his outlook well into his adulthood. As a listening experience The Fellowship follows a chronological arc that spans three generations covering his
parents’ early lives, his own spiritual and physical adolescence, and his
subsequent struggle to eschew the problematic habituations of such a
conflicted past. On The Fellowship, as on prior albums that bear his
name, Joseph Shabason does what only the best instrumental music
makers can: tell a story with emotional clarity that conveys even the
subtlest of feelings, all without singing a single word. As wordless as
ever-- with as complex a theme as ever-- this album may be his most emotionally articulate yet. Most importantly, those lost in the woods of repression and self-doubt that organized religion can be at its worst now have
The Fellowship to help guide them into a softer light.